Rupert Brooke’s Poems

IMGThe Book

At this stage I do not have the 1948 1st edition, I have the 1955 edition (Item 86.5 in Folio 60). The 1948 edition is Item 9. The differences between the two editions seem to be related to the typeface and the dustjacket. Indeed the 1955 edition is labelled as 1948, but has an italic typeface in the text, whereas the original did not.

According to Folio 60 there was 2nd impression of the 1948 original in 1950, and several other impressions of the 1955 edition.

My copy is set in Bembo italic and printed and bound by Mackays at Chatham.

The Poems

Since starting on this project I’ve learnt that I cannot read poems one after another!

Of the early poems I’ve read much seems to be about the ecstacy and transience of love.

I did like one or two of the poems, and I’m sure there are others I’d appreciate, but there was a lot of dross there as well.

The Poet

Rupert Brooke was born in 1888 and died in 1915 during WW1 transport. It would seem that he would attract the attention of both men and women during his short life. We will never know how much the poetry would have matured had he lived longer.

The Illustrator

John Buckland-Wright was a New Zealand born illustrator. The illustrations in this book are produced by the scraper-board technique. Charles Ede said, in Folio 21, that the result was “one of the artist’s less happy efforts”.

I quite like the illustrations. What do you think?

JBW also did the illustrations for The Odyssey (book 11), which were copper engraved. That book is coming up soon.

Illustrations and some text

IMG_0001The frontispiece

I will let the other illustrations speak for themselves.

I think that these are quite inspired illustrations, particularly “The Fish”, “War” and “The Dance”

Next time

The Odyssey  is next on the list in the first 100 stream, but I’m also reading Cover Your Face, which is a more recent book.

Leave a Reply

